A conviction for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI) in Colorado can have result in a number of legal consequences, including the mandatory participation in DUI education and treatment programs. According to the Colorado Department of Human Services (DHS), about 25,000 people a year are referred to these kinds of programs. These classes are ordered by the court and may be different than the requirements for reinstatement of your driver’s license, and can involve both education and therapy. Level I and Level II classes and therapy can only be completed at programs that have been licensed by the Office of Behavioral Health (OBH) that use OBH approved DUI curriculum. Below are some answers to questions that are frequently asked regarding Level I and Level II DUI classes and treatment.
What is Level I Education and when is it required?7
Level I Education involves 12 hours of DUI education and is generally required for first-time DUI offenders who had a relatively low blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of their arrest. The 12 hours of classes must occur over a period of 3 days or more, and not more than 4 hours of education can be completed within one calendar day.
What is Level II Education and when is it required?
Level II education involves 24 hours of DUI education over a period of 12 weeks and is generally conducted in a group setting. Class size is limited to 12 people. Level II Education is usually required for people with multiple DUI offenses or first-time offenders with a high BAC at the time of their arrest.
What is Level II Therapy?
In some cases, Level II education is combined with Level II Therapy and involves 5 to 10 months and group meetings in which clients are able to address their drug and alcohol abuse issues. Level II Therapy involves a 2-hour meeting once a week and can range from 42 total hours to 86 total hours. If required, the therapy commences upon the completion of Level II Education and requires clients to go through a substance abuse screening prior to entry.
This is provided as general information regarding Colorado DUI education and therapy programs. People with specific questions regarding these programs should contact a Colorado DUI defense attorney.
Contact a Denver DUI attorney today to schedule a free consultation
A DUI conviction can result in significant legal penalties that can end up costing you thousands of dollars and hundreds of hours of your time. In addition, the social stigma associated with a DUI can hinder your ability to get a job or damage your reputation in your community. Consequently, anyone accused of drunk or drugged driving in Colorado should contact the Tiftickjian Law Firm as soon as possible to retain legal representation. In many cases, an attorney can significantly mitigate the short and long term consequences associated with a DUI case. To schedule a free case evaluation with one of our lawyers, please call our office today at (303) DUI-5280 or send us an email through our online contact form available here.
Go to: Alcohol and Drug Classes What You Should Know Series 2 of 3.
Go to: Alcohol and Drug Classes What You Should Know Series 3 of 3.
Photo Credit: Thomas Favre-Bulle via Compfight cc