Colorado law defines reckless driving as:
- Engaging in aggressive driving at excessive speeds with another vehicle;
- Driving excessively above the speed limit in a residential neighborhood; and
- Performing dangerous driving maneuvers, like drag racing or doing donuts in a parking lot.
Reckless Driving Penalties
The consequences of a reckless driving conviction depend on the circumstances. But the possible penalties are:
- First offense – Drivers convicted of a first reckless driving offense face ten to 90 days in jail and/or $150 to $300 in fines.
- Repeat offense – For a second or subsequent reckless driving conviction, the motorist is looking at ten days to six months jail time and/or $50 to $1,000 in fines.
A reckless driving conviction will also add eight points to your Colorado driving record and reckless driving is considered a major traffic offense that is counted as a habitual offender strike. A conviction for reckless driving could lead to insurance rate increases and license suspension, depending on how many points the driver already has on their Colorado driving history and whether or not the driver has any other major or habitual traffic convictions on their record.
If reckless driving leads to the death of another person, vehicular homicide charges are a possibility.
Do I need an attorney for Reckless Driving?
The consequences of a reckless driving conviction in Colorado is very serious. If you’ve been arrested for or charged with reckless driving, get in contact with an experienced defense attorney at Tiftickjian Law Firm. We have represented countless people in similar situations and will give you an hoest assessment of your situation and what you are likely facing in terms of penalties and consequences. A qualified attorney can explain how the law applies to the facts of your case and help you decide on how best to handle your situation. To see how we can help fight your reckless driving charge in Colorado, contact us through this website or call our office at 303-384-5280.