In 2014, Colorado’s law regarding driver’s license reinstatement for repeat DUI offenders and individuals who refused to take a chemical test following their DUI arrest was revised to allow for early reinstatement under certain circumstances. If you are eligible for early reinstatement, upon applying for and being granted early reinstatement, you will receive an ignition interlock-restricted license requiring the use of an ignition interlock device while driving. It is important to note that early reinstatement eligibility always requires the applicant and driver to install ignition interlock in every vehicle they own and will drive and to comply with an SR22 requirement. You cannot take advantage of early reinstatement without ignition interlock or SR22.
Additionally, if Colorado takes a restraint action against your driving privilege, you must go through the reinstatement process before your privilege to drive becomes valid. You cannot simply wait out or serve your revocation or suspension period. You must also go through the reinstatement process before you can legally drive again, even if you are a resident of another state. Colorado will place a hold in the National Driver Register and that hold is indefinite and will not be lifted until you have met and submitted all the reinstatement requirements imposed by the state of Colorado. Failure to do so will cause you problems renewing your license or being issued a license in Colorado and in all other states,.
How to Apply for Early Reinstatement of Your Driver’s License
In order to qualify for early reinstatement, you must be:
- A current resident of Colorado
- At least 21 years of age or older at the time of the violation that caused the restraint
- Have satisfied all reinstatement requirements other than time
There are several reinstatement requirements that you will need to satisfy and steps you need to take in order to obtain an interlock-restricted license in Colorado. For example, you may need to do all of the following before applying for a restricted license:
- Obtain an SR22 certificate or rider that is added to your current auto liability policy and submit proof to the DMV
- Install an ignition interlock device in every vehicle you “own and drive” and submit proof of such via a Restricted License Ignition Interlock Agreement Affidavit
- For high BACs (≥ 0.150), repeat offenders and all refusal revocations, enroll in a state-certified Level II alcohol education and therapy program
- For first-time offenders with low BACs (≤ 0.149) submit a completed Certification Form
- Retake all three driving exams (eye, written and road)
- Clear any other restraints in effect against your driving privilege
You will also be required to complete the Reinstatement Application and submit a $95.00 reinstatement fee. Read more about the requirements for reinstatement of your driver’s license following a DUI:
- I was revoked because of a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .08 or more (1st offense)
- I was revoked because of a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .08 or more (2nd offense)
- I was revoked because of a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .08 or more (3rd or subsequent offense)
- I was revoked because I refused to take a chemical test (1st offense)
- I was revoked because I refused to take a chemical test (2nd offense)
- I was revoked because I refused to take a chemical test (3rd or subsequent offense)
- I have one DUI court conviction
- I have any combination of two DUI or DWAI court convictions in Colorado within a 5-year period
- I have three or more DUI or DWAI court convictions in Colorado
Resources for Colorado Drivers Seeking Reinstatement
Initially, after the law was revised to allow for early reinstatement, numerous individuals faced issues in working with the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). In particular, individuals seeking reinstatement faced confusion at the DMV around restraint extensions for additional alcohol-related charges and the impact of criminal convictions on active administrative license suspensions. The attorneys at Tiftickjian Law Firm, P.C. are extremely knowledgeable about DMV law and reinstatement options and requirements.
We have also compiled a list of government resources, application forms, FAQs, and information on ignition interlock devices for easy reference. Click here, to find additional information and forms on applying for early reinstatement.
Contact the Colorado Department of Revenue to Find Out if You are Eligible
Not everyone who is a repeat offender or who refused to take a chemical test will be eligible for early reinstatement of their driver’s license. Individual circumstances vary and will impact your eligibility. To determine if you are eligible for early reinstatement of your driver’s license, contact the Colorado Department of Revenue at (303) 205-5631. You may also submit an online request to the Colorado DMV to have your record analyzed for early reinstatement eligibility and if eligible, to determine the eligibility date and the exact reinstatement requirements
The information on this website regarding license reinstatement is subject to change, is provided as a courtesy, and is not legal advice. Inclusion of this information on Tiftickjian Law Firm, P.C.’s website does not create an attorney-client or professional relationship with anyone reviewing it. You should contact the Colorado DMV – Driver Services Division to determine your eligibility status and not rely solely on the information contained on this website.
Discuss Your DUI Case with an Attorney at Tiftickjian Law Firm, P.C. Today
If you have been arrested for DUI in Colorado or are facing the revocation of you driving privileges in Colorado because of an alcohol-or-drug-related offense, the experienced attorneys at Tiftickjian Law Firm, P.C. are here to help. To speak with a lawyer about your case, call our Denver law offices at (303) 384-5280 or contact us online today.