Colorado DUI Penalties
Colorado law is notoriously strict against drunk drivers, which is why it is crucial to get in touch with a skilled DUI lawyer as soon as you know you need DUI defense in Denver, CO. Drivers arrested with a BAC greater than or equal to 0.08% are subject to Colorado DUI penalties such as 5 days to a year in jail, a license suspension of up to 1 year, a $600 to $1000 fine, a mandatory sentence of at least 48 hours of public service and up to years on supervised probation which may include monitored sobriety and substance abuse education and therapy classes. If your BAC in your DUI arrest is particularly high (0.200% or greater), you will be subject to the above listed penalties, except you will be required to serve a mandatory minimum 10 day jail sentence.
On the second offense, you will be required to spend a mandatory minimum of 10 days in jail and could receive a jail sentence of up to one year. Additionally, you will pay fines between $600 and $1500, have your license suspended for at least one year and be required to serve at least 48 hours of community service. In addition you are looking at supervised probation of between 2 and 4 years with monitored sobriety during the period of probation and substance abuse education and therapy classes that could take between 38 and 55 weeks to complete.
Third-time Denver DUI penalties offenses have similar penalties to second offenses, except that your license suspension will be between 2 and 5 years depending on how long ago your prior offense were, and the mandatory minimum jail sentence on a 3rd DUI offense is 60 days in jail.
In addition to these crimes, Colorado will charge anyone with a BAC between 0.051% and 0.079% with a DWAI. A first time DWAI can result in a jail sentence up to 180 days, fines up to $500 and a minimum of 24 hours community service. Second-time DWAIs have sentences similar to first-time DUIs, with the exception of a minimum 5 day jail sentence. As you can see by the potential penalties, Colorado takes DUI and DWAI charges very seriously.
|COURT CONVICTION||JAIL RANGE||MANDATORY JAIL||MAXIMUM JAIL||PUBLIC SERVICE||MINIMUM LICENSE REVOCATION||PERIOD OF PROBATION|
|1st DWAI||2 days – 180 days||None||180 days||24 – 48 hours||None||Up to 2 years|
|1st DUI||5 days – 1 year||None||1 year||48 – 96 hours||9 months||Up to 2 years|
|DUI w/ BAC ≥ 0.200||10 days – 1 year||10 days||1 year||48 – 96 hours||9 months||Up to 2 years|
|2nd DUI or DWAI – outside 5 years||10 days – 1 year||10 days||1 year||48 – 120 hours||1 year / None||2 – 4 years|
|2nd DUI or DWAI – inside 5 years||10 days – 1 year||10 days||1 year||48 – 120 hours||1 year||2 – 4 years|
|3rd DUI or DWAI||60 days – 1 year||60 days||2 years||48 – 120 hours||2 years||2 – 4 years|
Consult Our DUI Lawyer
We Service all Denver Metro counties and most of the front range and Colorado mountain communities. For a full list of areas we serve, click here.
Never underestimate the power of a good defense crafted by a highly skilled Denver DUI lawyer, it can mean the difference between a year in jail and a year of freedom. When you are seeking the best drunk driving defense, invest in your future and contact the Tiftickjian Law Firm, P.C. today to schedule your initial consultation with an experienced Denver DUI attorney.